h1

Haiku Friday: July 4th

July 2, 2010

So I got this idea on my way home from work. There are many different days out there claimed for certain activities. On Twitter, for example, there’s #followfriday (or #ff) where you tweet the names of people you think are groovy enough to follow. Or, like our local radio station and probably many others – Two for Tuesdays – where they play two songs by the same artist. You get the point.

So I’m instituting my own day: Haiku Friday!!

Why? Because I can, and it’s fun. It’s haiku for crying out loud.

Why haiku? So “Haiku Friday” doesn’t start with the same letter nor does it have a catchy rhyme to it, but that’s what I love about haiku! I can’t remember in what grade I first learned it or how old I was, but I do remember loving it and loving the idea of creating “poetry.” Check out Wikipedia to refresh your memory on haiku.

Why Friday? Well what better day to be creative and have fun? You’re at work, it’s 4 o’clock, not time to leave yet but surely not enough time to start anything before you do. Great time for haiku!

Let’s get started! Everyone remember the one simple rule of haiku? That’s right, the 5-7-5 thing. There are three lines to a haiku poem: the first line is 5 syllables, second line is 7 syllables, and the last line 5 syllables. No rhyming necessary.

So here we go, my first haiku on my first Haiku Friday in celebration of this 4th of July:

July 4th weekend

Peachtree Road Race on Sunday

Our first 10k race!

So no pictures this time, folks. Just good clean poetry. And if you’d like to share your haiku on this Friday…

Have a great holiday weekend!!

2 comments

  1. Change diapers of poo
    That is all I seem to do
    Some pee but most poo

    yes…you inspired me to haiku! go haiku friday!
    have fun at the race for sure!


  2. So funny! I mean the haiku, not all the poo. :)



Leave a Reply

