h1

Assignment 3 – More on Composition

August 12, 2010

For our third assignment we presented two photos to the classs that demonstrated ‘good composition.’  There are many rules of composition, and people can choose to abide by those rules or break them entirely, where in some cases it will turn out miserably and in others, you’ll have yourself some art. My Cricket pic was my favorite composition picture and one I couldn’t wait to show you. It’s probably still my favorite but here are a few others. If anything, they show that I probably learned something. :)

This is the other photo I showed the class. I tried to demonstrate the rule of ‘leading lines’ (the rails in the bridge walkway leading to my primary subjects) as well as put Steve and Cricket in the intersection points when you divide the picture into thirds (‘rule of thirds’).

So overall, I think I demonstrated both rules rather well, it’s just not that interesting of a photo to me. Maybe if I made Steve put a different colored shirt on for our photo shoot? We also tried it in black and white, but I’m still not sure. Don’t you like how Cricket’s like ‘WTF?’

Here are two more that I thought were quite good. This is a picture of a box of chocolates (“life is like a box of chocolates…”) from Cacao, a handcrafted, artisan chocolatier in Inman Park, Alanta . We received this thoughtful and tasty treat in thanks for hosting a retirement party for a colleague of Steve’s.  I thought the box was beautiful with the deep brown coloring, bright purple bow and gold stamped logo. What was inside was even more beautiful – there was a tasty buddha with ginger in his belly! – but I didn’t get any real good photos of those, partly because Steve left the box in the car for like 5 minutes and in 100+ degree heat, our little chocolates started to droop (mini buddha had a smooshed nose).  Anywho, this picture employs the ‘fill the frame’ / ‘get in close’ compositional rule (as does my Cricket pic).  

Last but not least, this is a view from my driveway looking into our neighbor’s yard. I really liked the way the light caught the leaves and flowers, and that this part was bright and vibrant with color in front of a dreary old basement window. Also employed the rule of thirds here.

Next post, I’ll show you all my favorites I took during the course of the class. You’ll see more from the Oakland Cemetery (field trip!) as well as some lucky shots I took of unsuspecting critters at my parents’ home last weekend in Athens. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

